Goodland, KS · Public

Fort Hays State University-Northwest Kansas Technical College

About this college

Fort Hays State University-Northwest Kansas Technical College is a public institution in Goodland, KS. College In 2 focuses on its certificate and associate-degree pathways so students can compare the cost and earnings of shorter routes into a career or further education.

Who it serves

Students exploring career-focused certificates and two-year degrees, including people comparing affordable local pathways, career changes, and options that can lead directly to work or continued study.

Programs with graduate earnings 8 Certificate and associate pathways shown below
Average net price / year $13,074 Use the family-income table below for a more relevant estimate
Program value Rated by program Compare earnings with estimated total cost
Compare pathways

Programs & graduate outcomes

Start with value, earnings and cost. Then check whether the program fits the way you want to learn and work.

Value Rating Poor Value 1.4× earnings / cost
Earnings after 1 year from graduation $37,540
Earnings after 5 years from graduation $46,392
Est. total cost $26,148 Net price × program length
Median debt N/A
Math in school N/A
Math on job Moderate
Work characteristics Physical Requirements: High Writing: Moderate Customer Interaction: Moderate Outdoors: Moderate Irregular schedule: Low Remote potential: Low

Graphic Communications.

Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma
Varies
Value Rating N/A
Earnings after 1 year from graduation N/A Program earnings not reported
Earnings after 5 years from graduation N/A
Est. total cost N/A Net price × program length
Median debt N/A
Math in school N/A
Math on job Low
Work characteristics Physical Requirements: Moderate Writing: Moderate Customer Interaction: Moderate Outdoors: Low Irregular schedule: Low Remote potential: High
2-year degree
Value Rating N/A
Earnings after 1 year from graduation N/A Program earnings not reported
Earnings after 5 years from graduation N/A
Est. total cost $26,148 Net price × program length
Median debt N/A
Math in school Low
Math on job Low
Work characteristics Physical Requirements: High Writing: Moderate Customer Interaction: High Outdoors: Low Irregular schedule: Low Remote potential: Low

Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.

Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma
Varies
Value Rating N/A
Earnings after 1 year from graduation N/A Program earnings not reported
Earnings after 5 years from graduation N/A
Est. total cost N/A Net price × program length
Median debt N/A
Math in school N/A
Math on job Moderate
Work characteristics Physical Requirements: Moderate Writing: Moderate Customer Interaction: Moderate Outdoors: Low Irregular schedule: Low Remote potential: High
2-year degree
Value Rating N/A
Earnings after 1 year from graduation N/A Program earnings not reported
Earnings after 5 years from graduation N/A
Est. total cost $26,148 Net price × program length
Median debt N/A
Math in school N/A
Math on job Moderate
Work characteristics Physical Requirements: Moderate Writing: Moderate Customer Interaction: Moderate Outdoors: Low Irregular schedule: Low Remote potential: High

Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.

Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma
Varies
Value Rating N/A
Earnings after 1 year from graduation N/A Program earnings not reported
Earnings after 5 years from graduation N/A
Est. total cost N/A Net price × program length
Median debt N/A
Math in school Low
Math on job Low
Work characteristics Physical Requirements: High Writing: Moderate Customer Interaction: High Outdoors: Low Irregular schedule: Low Remote potential: Low

Graphic Communications.

Associate's Degree
2-year degree
Value Rating N/A
Earnings after 1 year from graduation N/A Program earnings not reported
Earnings after 5 years from graduation N/A
Est. total cost $26,148 Net price × program length
Median debt N/A
Math in school N/A
Math on job Low
Work characteristics Physical Requirements: Moderate Writing: Moderate Customer Interaction: Moderate Outdoors: Low Irregular schedule: Low Remote potential: High
2-year degree
Value Rating N/A
Earnings after 1 year from graduation N/A Program earnings not reported
Earnings after 5 years from graduation N/A
Est. total cost $26,148 Net price × program length
Median debt N/A
Math in school N/A
Math on job Moderate
Work characteristics Physical Requirements: Moderate Writing: Moderate Customer Interaction: Moderate Outdoors: High Irregular schedule: Low Remote potential: Low
Affordability

What does this cost for a family like mine?

Family incomeAverage net price per year
$0–$30,000$11,447
$30,001–$48,000$12,702
$48,001–$75,000$11,812
$75,001–$110,000$21,340
$110,001+$17,840

How the fit ratings work

Math in school is a cautious estimate of the amount of math typically required in the field; individual colleges can require different courses. Math on the job and the work-characteristic ratings reflect occupations commonly associated with the field using official occupational data. Remote potential describes typical work patterns and does not mean a particular employer offers remote work.

Campus safety

Compared with other colleges Above Average
Reported safety incidents per 1,000 students / year4.0
3-year reported incidents9

Official U.S. Department of Education campus-safety data through 2024. The rate is the annualized number of institution-reported on-campus criminal offenses per 1,000 students across the latest three reported years. The comparison label shows how that reported rate compares with other matched colleges. It is not a safety grade, and reporting practices, campus setting and campus structure can differ.

Explore more