About this college
Piedmont Virginia Community College is a public institution in Charlottesville, VA. College In 2 focuses on its certificate and associate-degree pathways so students can compare the cost and earnings of shorter routes into a career or further education.
Who it serves
Students exploring career-focused certificates and two-year degrees, including people comparing affordable local pathways, career changes, and options that can lead directly to work or continued study.
Programs with graduate earnings
8
Certificate and associate pathways shown below
Average net price / year
$5,963
Use the family-income table below for a more relevant estimate
Program value
Rated by program
Compare earnings with estimated total cost
Compare pathways
Programs & graduate outcomes
Start with value, earnings and cost. Then check whether the program fits the way you want to learn and work.
Value Rating
Good Value
4.2× earnings / cost
Earnings after 1 year from graduation
$50,473
Earnings after 5 years from graduation
$77,265
Est. total cost
$11,926
Net price × program length
Median debt
$10,500
Math in school
Moderate
Math on job
Moderate
Work characteristics
Physical Requirements: Moderate
Writing: High
Customer Interaction: High
Outdoors: Low
Irregular schedule: Low
Remote potential: Moderate
Value Rating
Good Value
4.0× earnings / cost
Earnings after 1 year from graduation
$47,940
Earnings after 5 years from graduation
$62,689
Est. total cost
$11,926
Net price × program length
Median debt
$11,500
Math in school
Moderate
Math on job
Moderate
Work characteristics
Physical Requirements: Moderate
Writing: Moderate
Customer Interaction: High
Outdoors: Low
Irregular schedule: Low
Remote potential: Moderate
Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma
1 to less than 2 year certificate
Value Rating
Good Value
3.8× earnings / cost
Earnings after 1 year from graduation
$44,678
Earnings after 5 years from graduation
N/A
Est. total cost
$11,866
Net price × program length
Median debt
N/A
Math in school
Moderate
Math on job
Moderate
Work characteristics
Physical Requirements: Moderate
Writing: Moderate
Customer Interaction: High
Outdoors: Low
Irregular schedule: Low
Remote potential: Low
Value Rating
Good Value
2.7× earnings / cost
Earnings after 1 year from graduation
$32,237
Earnings after 5 years from graduation
$50,057
Est. total cost
$11,926
Net price × program length
Median debt
N/A
Math in school
Moderate
Math on job
Moderate
Work characteristics
Physical Requirements: Low
Writing: High
Customer Interaction: High
Outdoors: Low
Irregular schedule: Low
Remote potential: High
Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma
Varies
Value Rating
N/AValue not rated
Earnings after 1 year from graduation
$28,910
Earnings after 5 years from graduation
$38,908
Est. total cost
N/A
Net price × program length
Median debt
$7,000
Math in school
Low
Math on job
N/A
Work characteristics
Remote potential: Low
Value Rating
Good Value
1.7× earnings / cost
Earnings after 1 year from graduation
$20,585
Earnings after 5 years from graduation
$39,709
Est. total cost
$11,926
Net price × program length
Median debt
$6,815
Math in school
Low
Math on job
N/A
Work characteristics
Remote potential: Low
Value Rating
N/A
Earnings after 1 year from graduation
N/A
Program earnings not reported
Earnings after 5 years from graduation
N/A
Est. total cost
$11,926
Net price × program length
Median debt
N/A
Math in school
N/A
Math on job
Moderate
Work characteristics
Physical Requirements: Moderate
Writing: Moderate
Customer Interaction: Moderate
Outdoors: Low
Irregular schedule: Low
Remote potential: Moderate
Value Rating
N/A
Earnings after 1 year from graduation
N/A
Program earnings not reported
Earnings after 5 years from graduation
N/A
Est. total cost
$11,926
Net price × program length
Median debt
N/A
Math in school
Low
Math on job
Moderate
Work characteristics
Physical Requirements: High
Writing: Moderate
Customer Interaction: Moderate
Outdoors: Low
Irregular schedule: Low
Remote potential: Low
How the fit ratings work
Math in school is a cautious estimate of the amount of math typically required in the field; individual colleges can require different courses. Math on the job and the work-characteristic ratings reflect occupations commonly associated with the field using official occupational data. Remote potential describes typical work patterns and does not mean a particular employer offers remote work.
Campus safety
Compared with other colleges
Above Average
Reported safety incidents per 1,000 students / year0.3
3-year reported incidents4
Official U.S. Department of Education campus-safety data through 2024. The rate is the annualized number of institution-reported on-campus criminal offenses per 1,000 students across the latest three reported years. The comparison label shows how that reported rate compares with other matched colleges. It is not a safety grade, and reporting practices, campus setting and campus structure can differ.